Awards Ceremony

The 23rd Annual Faculty Day Conference

6

Penthouse, Student Center Thursday, May 16, 2019 **brooklyn.cuny.edu/facultyday**

Introductory Remarks

Katrina Karkazis, Carol L. Zicklin '61 Honors Academy Chair Anne Lopes, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Presentation of Awards

The Claire Tow Distinguished Teacher Award Jennifer Basil, Biology presented by Joseph Entin, English

Award for Excellence in Teaching for a Full-Time Faculty Member Malcolm Merriweather, Conservatory of Music presented by Matthew Burgess, English

Award for Excellence in Teaching for a Part-Time Faculty Member Aleah Ranjitsingh, Africana Studies presented by Helen Georgas, Library

Award for Excellence in Creative Achievement Celina Su, Political Science presented by Rose Bonczek, Theater

Award for Excellence in Research Mark Ungar, Political Science presented by Janet Johnson, Political Science

Award for Excellence in Academic Outcomes Assessment Carol Connell, Business Management presented by Christopher Richards, Art

Outstanding Undergraduate Deputy Award Mariana Torrente, Chemistry presented by Carolina Bank Muñoz, Sociology

Eric M. Steinberg Award for College Citizenship Prudence Cumberbatch, Africana Studies presented by Joseph Entin, English

Distinguished and Named Professorships and Fellowships

Distinguished Professors

Eric Alterman, English Tania León, Conservatory of Music Benjamin Lerner, English Ursula Oppens, Conservatory of Music Rohit Parikh, Computer and Information Science

Theodore Raphan, Computer and Information Science

Jeanne Theoharis, Political Science Mac Wellman, English

Tow Professorships

2017-2019 Paisley Currah, Political Science Alexander Greer, Chemistry Tammy Lewis, Sociology Jennifer McCoy, Art Laura Rabin, Psychology

2018-2020

Benjamin Lerner, English

Paul Forlano, Biology

Patricia Cronin, Art

Carolina Bank Muñoz, Sociology

Sunil Mohanty, Finance

Marshall G. Kaplan Chair in Municipal Government

Daniel Tinkelman, Accounting

Herbert Kurz '41 Chair in Constitutional Law and Civil Liberties

Anna Law, Political Science

Herbert Kurz '41 Chair in Finance and Risk Management

Hyuna Park, Finance

Jay Newman Chair in the Philosophy of Culture Serene Khader, Philosophy

Madelon Leventhal Rand '64 Chair in Literature Marjorie Welish, English Daniel M. Lyons '39 Professorship in American History Benjamin Carp, History

Women's Studies Endowed Chair

Robyn Spencer, History

Carol L. Zicklin '61 Honors Academy Chair

Katrina Karkazis, Anthropology and Archaeology

Carol and Larry Zicklin Chair in Science Luis Quadri, Biology

Jacques Edward Levy '35 Professorship in Analytical Chemistry

Mark Kobrak, Chemistry

Levy-Kosminsky Professorship in Physical Chemistry

Laura Juszczak, Chemistry

George and Beatrice Schwartzman Professorship in Chemistry

Mariana Torrente, Chemistry

Lester D. and Alice Crow Professorship in Education and Counseling

Laura Ascenzi-Moreno, Childhood, Bilingual and Special Education

Matthew J. Fantaci Professorship in Modern Language and Literature

William Childers, Modern Languages and Literatures

Bernard H. Stern '32 Professorship in Humor

MJ Robinson, Television and Radio

Wolfe Institute Faculty Fellows 2018-2019 Jason Eckardt, Conservatory of Music

2019–2020 Benjamin Carp, History



